HP Fanfic Fan Poll Awards

2014 Awards Changes

We took a poll. We talked the results among ourselves. We found a compromise.

Here are the changes for the 2014 Awards year:

1. We are adding the following Category to Gen Fic nomintions/voting only:

  • Best Adventure-Mystery

2. We are eliminating the following Categories:

  • Best Threesome/Moresome

  • Best Legacy Story

3. We are changing some of the Ships/Groups. Here is the new list:


  • Gen Fic (non-romantic/non-sexual stories)

  • Dramione (Draco Malfoy x Hermione Granger)

  • Drarry (Draco Malfoy x Harry Potter)

  • Harmony (Harry Potter x Hermione Granger)

  • Hogwarts Staff & Spirits (anyone x Bathsheba Babbling, the Bloody Baron, Cuthburt Binns, Charity Burbage, Edgar Clogg, Sir Nicholas de Mimsy Porpington, Sir Patrick Delaney-Podmore, Lord Draben, Albus Dumbledore, the Fat Friar, Argus Filch, Firenze, Filius Flitwick, Godric Gryffindor, Wilhelmina Grubbly-Plank, Rubeus Hagrid, Rolanda Hooch, Helga Hufflepuff, Silvanus Kettleburn, Gilderoy Lockhart, Minerva McGonagall, Moaning Myrtle, Peeves, Irma Pince, Poppy Pomfrey, Quirinus Quirrell, Helena Ravenclaw/The Grey Lady, Rowena Ravenclaw, Aurora Sinistra, Horace Slughorn, Salazar Slytherin, Severus Snape [exception: no Snarry or Snermione for this Group as they have their own Groups], Pomona Sprout, Sybil Trelawney, Septima Vector, the Wailing Widow)

  • Marauders (James Potter x Sirius Black, James Potter x Remus Lupin, James Potter x Peter Pettigrew, James Potter x Lily Evans, Sirius Black x Peter Pettigrew, Sirius Black x Lily Evans, Remus Lupin x Peter Pettigrew, Remus Lupin x Lily Evans, Peter Pettigrew x Lily Evans [exception: no Sirius Black x Remus Lupin for this Group as they have their own Group])

  • Next Gen (Teddy Lupin, Scorpius Malfoy, Albus Severus Potter, James Potter, Lily Luna Potter, Lorcan Scamander, Lysander Scamander, Dominique Weasley, Fred Weasley, Hugo Weasley, Louis Weasley, Lucy Weasley, Molly Weasley II, Rose Weasley, Roxanne Weasley, Victoire Weasley x each other only)

  • Snarry (Severus Snape x Harry Potter)


  • Black Moon (Sirius Black x Remus Lupin)

  • Hinny (Harry Potter x Ginny Weasley)

  • Romione (Ron Weasley x Hermione Granger)

  • Snermione (Severus Snape x Hermione Granger)

  • The Dark Side (anyone x Avery Jr., Avery Sr., Regulus Black, Alecto Carrow, Amycus Carrow, Crabbe Sr., Barty Crouch Jr., John Dawlish, Antonin Dolohov, Gibbon, Goyle Sr., Fenrir Greyback, Jugson, Igor Karkaroff, Lestrange Sr., Bellatrix Lestrange, Rodolphus Lestrange, Rabastan Lestrange, Draco Malfoy [no Drarry or Dramione for this Group as they have their own Groups], Lucius Malfoy, Walden McNair, Mulcibur Jr., Nott Sr., Peter Pettigrew [no Peter x James Potter, x Sirius Black, x Remus Lupin, x Lily Evans as they have their own Group], Tom Marvolo Riddle, Augustus Rookwood, Rosier Sr., Evan Rosier, Thorfinn Rowle, Scabior, Selwyn, Pius Thicknesse, Travers, Dolores Umbridge, Lord Voldemort, Wilkes, Yaxley)

  • Threesomes+ (Can be a consensual, dub-con, or non-con situation, but has to feature at least 1 person with multiple romantic and/or sexual partners in the story and that relationship/experience must be the main plot of the fic)

  • Weasley Love (any Weasley x any Weasley [no Romione, Hinny, or Next GenWeasley x NextGen Weasley -- cross-gen OK though,  as they have their own Groups])

  • Rare Pairs (anyone without a Group already assigned to them)

3. Timelines and all other general rules will remain the same as 2013's awards.

We'll update the Rules page with this information today.
  • Current Mood: accomplished accomplished
We fixed that glaring mistake by putting Drarry in Spring/Summer Round in its own Group. Thank you for letting us know about this.
How great! Now we can nominated older character fics in every round, either as Hogwarts staff or as Rare Pairs.

Thank you so much for all the work and for taking our comments into account.
Thanks! We're pleased with the new format, too. It was a lot of back and forth between us on the committee, but we think the new Ships/Groups and Category changes make a lot more sense to the way people nominate and vote in the awards. We want the fans to participate (to write more fic, to nominate more fic, and to vote) and we hope this new format this year will encourage that.